Brother Keep Us [mixtape]

Brother Keep Us1

I began this mix in 2011, when I last returned to Michigan. In the midst of feeling directionless and alone, I was trying to start again, build something, connect myself with bigger ideas. Instead, I nearly ruined my life.

I was on a collision course with something terrible, and I had no idea it was coming.

Download the mp3 version here.

This mixtape was carved out before that fateful night, but its legacy was cemented in the days and weeks after. Each of these songs will always be powerful, will always haunt my life. I can only hope that I’m haunted in the warmest light.

As always, here’s a poem from Yoko Ono:

Take a tape of the sound of the stars
Do not listen to the tape.
Cut it and give it out to the people
on the street.
Or you may sell it for a moderate price.

– Yoko Ono

Here are my other mixtapes.

Track list:

01. Camille Saint Saëns – Aquarium
02. The Cure – All Cats Are Grey
03. Colin Stetson – The Stars In His Head (Dark Lights Remix)
04. Sunn O))) & Boris – The Sinking Belle (Blue Sheep)
05. Bedřich Smetana – Má Vlast: Vltava (The Moldau River)
06. Joanna Newsom – Sawdust & Diamonds
07. The Angels of Light – Untitled Love Song
08. Aphex Twin – Avril 14th
09. Jimmy Scott – Sycamore Trees
10. The Durutti Column – All That Love And Maths Can Do
11. Talk Talk – Time It’s Time

Thanks for listening.

3 thoughts on “Brother Keep Us [mixtape]

  1. Pingback: Mother. Father. Always You Wrestle Inside Me. Always You Will. | Optimistic Underground

  2. Pingback: Always You Wrestle Inside Me. Always You Will. | Optimistic Underground

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.